Hi everyone!

The topic I have chosen for this simulation is the topic of poverty. I chose this topic because in the last class we had, we did a lot of research and learned a lot about poverty and it really made an impact on me. Growing up in The Bronx in New York City, I was surrounded by people (family and friends) who were affected by poverty. I personally have never experienced poverty, but I have seen the negative affects it has on families and children. I feel that it is very important for people to understand the effects of poverty and to know how it can harm a child’s development and can cause families stress.

My three subtopics were:

  1.  Ways to foster healthy development for children who are in poverty.
  2. Ways in which high quality early childhood education can benefit children in poverty.
  3. How strong relationships between teachers and families is important for families going through poverty.

I feel that everyday I am conflicted between sub topic 1 and 2 because I feel both would be great to focus on and learn more about. I also feel that I would find more information on these subtopics. (What do you guys think? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated). As I worked through my chart (Which I am still doing) I realized that I may have some trouble because I tend to over think everything. By doing this I am making my life harder and more stressful. I have not come up with a workable research question yet, but I am trying and doing my best. It kills me ho fast the weeks go by. I feel confident because of the great information that has been provided to me, but at the same time, I am nervous because everything goes so fast and I feel like I am over thinking a bunch. Does anyone else feel this way?

Well if anyone know of some resources for poverty or has a suggestion/ advice on choosing a sub topic, I would greatly appreciate it! I will do my best to share resources that I know of that can help you guys!